41 Arkansas Students Heading to United Methodist Colleges Named 2015 Dollars for Scholars Recipients

LITTLE ROCK, ARK. (May 15, 2015) – The United Methodist Higher Education Foundation recently named 41 Arkansas students as recipients of the Dollars for Scholars scholarship awards. For each recipient, the students’ local churches give $1,000, and the United Methodist Higher Education Foundation matches that contribution. Then the United Methodist Foundation of Arkansas gives $1,000, and the student’s selected college contributes $1,000 for a significant $4,000 award. 

“More Arkansas students than ever before received Dollars for Scholars awards this year,” said Jim Argue, Jr., president of the United Methodist Foundation of Arkansas.  “We are proud to announce that a total of $41,000 in grants will be presented from UMFA to Arkansas students who will attend United Methodist colleges and Universities.”

Hendrix College students receiving the scholarships include Katherine Q. Emery of First UMC, Batesville; Ava Z. Graves and Steven R. Ragsdale of First UMC, Bryant; Madeline J. McDonald and Malachi J. McDonald of Grace UMC, Conway; Samuel M. Coker and Michala J. Roberts of First UMC, Conway; Emmett A. Hill of First UMC, Hot Springs; Andrew D. Fleming of Grand Avenue First UMC, Hot Springs; Hannah E. Shelton of Asbury UMC, Little Rock; Liam R. Hankins-Hull, Caitlyn B. Hendrickson, and Michael R. McMurray of First UMC, Little Rock; Jonathan T. Spradley and Victoria L. Spradley of Pulaski Heights UMC, Little Rock; Lance A. Dunbar of St. James UMC, Little Rock; Ethny M. Ashcraft and Margaret A. Young of Lakeside UMC, Pine Bluff; Daniel K. Reece of First UMC, West Memphis.

Philander Smith College scholarship recipients include Arthur Bright, Adonika S. Bullard, Kishon Delancy, Tierra A. Holland, Toria A. Holland, Trevor A. Ivy, Julius C. Keith, Titus N. Manning, Kaelin K. McNeal, Candace L. Parchman, Kingsley G. Pinder, Carvon Smith, Shabborn Vail, Jordan A. Walker, Sara I. Walker, and Chet R. Young, all of Wesley Chapel UMC, Little Rock.

Lawrence E. Knox of First UMC, Fort Smith, will attend Boston University and Alexander M. Shannon of Pulaski Heights UMC, Little Rock, will attend Centenary College in Shreveport, Louisiana.

Seminary student Taylor W. Loy of Central UMC, Fayetteville, will attend Duke Divinity School and seminary student Laura J. Prange of First UMC, Dewitt, will attend Iliff School of Theology.

Seminary student Deena M. Hamilton of St. Andrew UMC, Little Rock, will attend Perkins School of Theology in Dallas and seminary student Ronald J. Pressgrove of St. Luke UMC, Little Rock, will attend United Theological Seminary in Dayton, Ohio.

The United Methodist Higher Education Foundation is dedicated to helping students achieve their dreams by providing scholarship aid for United Methodist students attending 122 United Methodist-related institutions.  UMFA is one of the largest United Methodist Foundations in the country. Founded in 1963, UMFA is responsible for over 750 funds that have combined assets in excess of $135 million.